Okay, So I Got THAT Wrong

In an earlier post on this blog titled Brick Wall Paper, I thought I had discovered a census record for my great-grandfather James H. Myers.1

Possible parents for Amarilla Cox

I speculated that the enumerator just dittoed the Cox surname onto some grandchildren. Wishful thinking on my part. Turns out the James H Cox is actually James Hamilton Cox. I discovered this in the best way possible. I got a DNA cousin match on Ancestry.com that proves I have the correct family for my Amarilla (Winnie) Cox!

Oddly my first reaction to this was, Be Careful What You Wish For. This new cousin match had Martha G and John Cox on it, but with a lot of other unknown siblings to the James Hamilton Cox. I was sad that I no longer had an early census record for James H Myers, but thrilled that I had proof I had the right family. I got to work correcting my tree and researching this James H Cox.

My first clue that he is the real deal was the 1880 US Census for James.

1880 Census James Hamilton Cox
1880 Census James Hamilton Cox2

He named his first son Jerome Benjamin, which is his older brother’s name. I haven’t found James Hamilton Cox in the 1900 or 1910 census yet, but he does show up in the 1920 census in Cambridge, Washington, Idaho.3 This is the same location his brother Jerome Benjamin lived when four of his many children were born. Other records suggest James Hamilton Cox was divorced even though he is listed as single in this 1920 Census. He was working as a laborer in a pool hall.

I even have a theory on where the middle name Hamilton came from: a friend and neighbor with whom John and Martha Cox bought and sold land in Putnam County, Missouri: Hamilton Davis. I’ve been combing through a deed index for that county and have found multiple entries for land exchanges between the Cox family and Hamilton Davis.

Bless the heart of the woman who had her DNA tested on Ancestry.com and had this Cox line on her tree! I don’t mind being wrong on who I thought James H was…especially since now I know I have the correct family. Yay!

_____________

1 1860 US Census, Missouri, Putnam, Liberty, pg 346, HH# 35

2 1880 US Census, Missouri, Chariton, Wayland, ED 163, pg 437A, HH# 142

3 1920 US Census, Idaho, Washington, Cambridge, ED 182, pg 1B, HH# 20

Leave a Reply

